chongqed
Tuesday, July 20, 2004
 
A Reply

A few days ago, I got a comment from somebody who seems to be an ex-spammer. Or at least tries to give the impression. Here's the comment again:

We will stop spamming blogs from now on, we had a discussion and a decision was made. I am sorry for the previous messages it was some of our workers who replied here and he is no longer with us.. we saw the website and think it was a nasty idea to use our bot against blogs and besides it is not optimized to work with those forms, the software designed to autofill forms, and was misused by our workers.

I have thought a long time about how to reply to this very interesting comment. I will not ignore it.

First, let me say that I really appreciate something like this. That's why we started chongqed.org, to get spammers to stop spamming. Yet, we would not have thought that they would be really willing to do that. So now the question arises when we will let a spammer off the hook again and delete him from our database. Good question, isn't it?

In this particular case (it's all about the casino-online-on-line.com spammer), I'd like to have a little more information:

1. Who are you? If you had signed this comment, it would certainly have been a lot more credible.

2. For what purposes are you using the software you were talking about? If you won't use it on blogs to fill out comment forms, are you still going to use it on wikis and guestbooks?

3. Can you somehow manage to get my pretty picture removed from that exit.co.il server?

Thank you for your response. It really is appreciated.

 
Thursday, July 15, 2004
 
Even more foolishness

The casino-online-on-line.com spammer keeps lowering his standards from minute to minute it seems. He just posted another comment. Here it is:

OMG you are so ugly heheheh, look at your piggy face and this so twisted mouth of yours buuwwwa..
wwwboard message boards have "img" field, wanna see your pic in 300,000 web resources? keep on chongqing you might just will, stupid loser.. listen, you wanna win spam by a stupid "verb" you invented, ain't gonna work buddy, you better put passwords on the wikis or some other method of security before updating the content, image protection.. something, you think you can win every war, when you'll keep going with your head to the wall, even your zodiac sign represents hitler, be smart, protect your wikis and develop some technique to protect the others, don't fight.. it's a bot, tomorrow it could be a virus, enough with the hero style games.

OK, so let's see.

"OMG you are so ugly heheheh" Well, I may be ugly and I may have a twisted mouth (whatever that is), but beauty is in the eye of the beholder and I don't see what that has to do with anything.

"wanna see your pic in 300,000 web resources?" The fact that you are willing to put my picture on some thousand web resources tells me that I'm not a loser, but that I pissed you off. And that's just what I wanted. Keep on being childish and you will soon proof that I'm a winner.

"you better put passwords on the wikis" Why do you want us to put passwords on wikis? Is your bot out of control? Simply stop the bot, then we won't have to chongq you and we can leave our wikis the way they are (which incidently is the way we like them).

"even your zodiac sign represents hitler" I have no idea what that is supposed to mean. But if you think that the fact that you are from Israel has anything to do with chongqing you, you are wrong. I am chongqing you because you are a spammer. That's enough reason for me.

"don't fight". Why not? These are our wikis. We like them. They are worth fighting for.

 
 
Foolishness

It seems that we irritated the casino-online-on-line.com spammer so much that he needed to vent his anger by posting a childish little jgp image on some server. You can read about that on the news section of chongqed.org.

I wonder whether the spammer is still busy photoshopping new images, constantly reloading this blog to look for another response, or whether he's gone back to his "job" spamming wikis again.

When was the last time your wiki/blog/guestook was spammed by the casino-online-on-line.com spammer?

 
Friday, July 09, 2004
 

Just had to get that one off my chest: casino-online-on-line.com has the nerve to link to wikipedia. Can you believe that?

 
Thursday, July 08, 2004
 
armata.net

I should have had a look much earlier, but now I did it and looked at the page you get when you click on "Domain Names" on armata.net. Yikes!

Jayne is willing to sell some of her domains! For example, you can have casino-online-casino-online.com if you shell out $30,000. casino-online.org will go for $120,000. Now that's what I call a bargain!

Here are some other interesting domain names you could have (if you could afford them):

baby-face.net, bankruptcy-avoidance.com, c-o-k-e.org, christmas-shopping.org, club4swingers.com, cowface.com, cyprus-cyprus-cyprus-cyprus-cyprus.com, cyprusex.com, fresh-vegetables.com. And I only went through A-F.

 
 

The online-casino spammer was back at the POPFile wiki. He left the same html crap he left yesterday and the day before yesterday. So after cleaning up the wiki, I did some research:

The whois information for casino-online-on-line.com tells us that:

So what do we have here?

This isn't clear-cut evidence, but it's at least a strong trace. What we still need to find out:

 
This blog is a place for me to share my views on the wiki spam problem, the email spam problem, and life in general.

ARCHIVES
May 2004 / June 2004 / July 2004 / August 2004 / October 2004 / November 2004 / December 2004 / January 2005 / February 2005 / March 2005 / September 2005 / October 2005 / November 2005 / January 2006 / October 2006 / January 2007 / May 2007 /


LINKS