The wire mesh spammer now seems to have completely lost his marbles.
Lee's wiki is currently under a heavy spam attack. This no longer qualifies as spamming, it seems more like a DOS attack at this point.
He has been spamming this wiki alone over 200 times today. And while I am typing, his bot keeps spamming and my bot keeps cleaning it.
I regret that this has escalated up to this point. And I wish there was a way to take Lee's wiki offline. If anybody has any idea, please let me know.
I'm currently checking the recent changes on the Know-how Wiki because it is under a bad spam attack, while its members seem to be travelling or something.
When I took a look this morning, I was stunned. A single spammer using an IP address of the Chinese telecom, spammed this single wiki no less than 194 times within a couple of hours.
Are these people nuts? Do they really think they can get away with this? Do they really want that wiki admins block access for all Chinese IPs? I really don't get it.
The IP range of the Chinese Telecom is 202.105.0.0 - 202.105.255.255. That's a lot of IP numbers. But to spam the Know-how Wiki 194 times, one single IP number did it. I don't know the exact address, but the wiki reports "202.105.113.xxx"
Whenever I try to find a spammed wiki using Google, one little wiki shows up in the results. It has been spammed by every known (and probably a couple of unknown) wiki spammer. I'm talking about Lee's wiki. It is run by Lee Daniel Crocker. Well, at least he installed it once.
Lee built a nice little wiki. He must have spent lots of time editing its pages. But recently it looks abandoned and it seems like Lee has his given up the fight against the spammers who have now taken over.
Here are a few examples: A spammer created a page named 'China'. It was created two weeks ago and has been spammed twelve times since then. The page that must once have contained some information about Lee's vacation in Maui currently shows 190 revisions, only nine being spam-removals.
I'm currently looking at the RecentChanges on Lee's wiki once per hour and I always find fresh spam. The only good thing about this is that it attracts so many spammers that I find new entries for the chongqed.org database each time I visit.
I would like to ask you, dear reader, to help fight the spammers on Lee's little wiki. Take a look at the RecentChanges, set your preferences to a name that tells others that you aren't a spammer, and then clean one or two pages.
Of course, it doesn't make any kind of difference whether this wiki is cleaned or not. Google and his search engine siblings will index all of the revisions, whether they are spammy or not. But it breaks my heart to see this wiki go down the spam drain.
chongqed.org finally made it to the usenet. Since I'm a big fan of the Usenet and think that it's the greatest thing since sliced bread, I'm especially happy about this. Thanks, Stacey!
We have another angry spammer to deal with at chongqed.org. He has been spamming, spamming, spamming for hukuki.net. Yet, he doesn't get it and he doesn't see why he is blacklisted on many wikis and why we have him in our database.
That's why he started to vandalize Wikipedia yesterday, posting links to chongqed.org and a couple of wikis.
Joe has more on that guy. Also check out the news section on chongqed.org
I guess I know that the regulars at Wikipedia are quite used to people retaliating when they find themselves blocked or reverted. Nevertheless I want to apologize to those folks for the inconvenience this must have caused. Thanks for cleaning up that mess so quickly!
Somebody out there has too much money and too much free time. That's why he started another SEO contest as if Nigritude Ultramarine wasn't enough.
This time, the magic keyword is seraphim proudleduck and we already have the first wiki spammers for that keyword in our database (altough one of them was too stupid to spell it correctly).
Wikipedia already has an article about Seraphim proudleduck which correctly points out how much damage that last contest provoked.
There is a little bright side to this mess: The contest has some rules. One reads: "No method of SEO and promotion is prohibited. In part this competition exists to test the strengths and weaknesses of Google However, we take no responsibility for contestants spamming and we will disqualify, and publicly harass anyone who does so. ". I hope they aren't kidding, but I'm afraid they are. If you find somebody spamming wikis, guestbooks, or blogs with that keyword, please let the organizers know about it and make sure you submit it to chongqed.org.